Gluten-Free Protein Powders – Protein powders are great nutrients to add to shakes and smoothies. Some people even use this powder for weight loss programs. It is great to mix with milk, juice, or plain water. The addition of this protein powder will provide additional nutrition for you. Shae and smoothies and a variety of drinks with protein powder are great as a meal replacement, as a snack or as an energy boost when you are traveling.
There are so many brands of protein powders that you might be confused by this. Especially if you are looking for a gluten-free protein powder product.
In fact, gluten itself is a protein, usually found in whole grains, barley, and rye. As a habit, the protein powders available in the market are milk-based protein types. Sometimes you also find many products that contain gluten. Moreover, protein powder is strongly processed so that it poses a high risk of gluten cross-contamination.
Well, what is a good protein powder product for you, if you have gluten sensitivity, so you need to avoid it. However, now there are many producers who are more advanced and able to offer a variety of flavors and choices.
Protein Powder Options
Here are some dairy-based gluten-free protein powder products, including:
- Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein
- Cabot Whey Protein
- Isopure Natural Flavor
- Bodylogix Natural Whey
- GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein
- Labrada Lean Body High Protein Meal Replacement Shake
- Quest Protein Powder
- Muscle Milk
- TGS Nutrition All-Natural 100% Whey Protein Powder
Meanwhile, the following are gluten-free and dairy-free protein powder products, including:
- Orgain Organic Protein Powder
- Thorne Research MediPro Vegan All-In-One Shake
- PlantFusion Complete Protein Powder
- Vega One All-In-One Protein Powder
Below we take a more detailed look at gluten-free products and how they taste and the ingredients used in their manufacture.
Choosing the Right One
On the market there are various types of protein powder products with various brands. Among them include whey products made from cow’s milk. But it also contains soy protein milk and other vegetable proteins. Even some types also contain casein, which is another protein found in cow’s milk. This is avoided by those on a gluten-free diet.
Here are some types of protein in protein powder
1. Protein Concentrates
Protein concentrate is concentrated protein, and whey protein concentrate is usually used in protein powder. It is a byproduct of the whey product, which is why it is inexpensive.
Also see: 6 Amazing of Sorghum Health Benefits
2. Protein Isolates
It is a more refined and highly processed protein type and is used in protein powders. It is almost 100% protein. Whey and soy protein isolates are widely available in powder form.
3. Protein Hydrolysates
Protein hydrosylate, this is another model of protein and it is broken down into amino acids. This type of protein powder is said to be easier to absorb and digest. Athletes commonly use this type of protein because it is thought to be better at enhancing sports performance. Protein hydrosylates, both whey or soy protein, are in the form of protein powders.
If you are looking for the best protein powder, then the answer is “none.” Some people even prefer to use unprocessed protein powders, such as unflavored whey protein concentrate. Others want a protein product with added vitamins and minerals and these are usually used as a complete meal replacement, whether highly processed or not. While others, there are also those who want a protein powder free of gluten, soy and dairy free.
Gluten-Free Protein Powders
Some of the following protein products are considered gluten-free, so they are safe for people with celiac disease.
1. Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein
This gluten-free protein powder often advertised under the name “zero gluten, and zero gimmicks,” Body Fortress is made from a mixture of whey protein concentrate and from whey protein isolate.
This protein powder is available in various flavors, including: Vanilla, banana creme, chocolate, cinnamon swirl, cookes’ n creme (gluten-free), chocolate peanut butter, and strawberry. All types and flavors are gluten free. You can find a gluten-free label at the bottom of the box.
2. Bodylogix Natural Whey
Bodylogix Natural Whey is a protein powder made from whey protein concentrate, whey protein hydrosylate, whe protein isolate. It is sweetened with stevia, which comes from cows which are fed from grass. This type does not contain artificial coloring or agents. It is gluten free so it is less than 20 parts per million gluten. It contains a little lactose.
Some of the flavors available, including: Caramel chocolate chip, snickerdoodle, decadent chocolate, natural unflavored and vanilla bean. And this product contains soy lecithin.
3. Isopure Natural Flavor
Isopure Natural Flavor is a protein powder that is made with whey protein isolate and is available in two flavors: Chocolate and vanilla. This product is sweetened with sugar cane and Luo Han Guo. Luo Han Guo is a sweet fruit that is grown in China, and is used as a sweetener instead of sugar. This product is also a gluten free product.
Also see: 5 Delicious Low Carbohydrate Breakfast Recipes
4. Cabot Whey Protein
Cabot Whey Protein is a flavorless protein powder made from just two ingredients. Both are whey protein concentrate, and soy lecithin. So, it contains no added vitamins and flavors and contains no minerals. It is a gluten free protein powder.
5. GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein
Then, gluten-free protein powder is GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein. However GNC has many protein powder products. Only a few of them are listed as gluten-free protein powders. So, when buying one, check out the Pro Performance 100% whey protein one. Ignore those that say other Pro Performance products. To get gluten-free, you can buy GNC 100% Whey Protein with 6 types of flavors. You can choose the flavors of creamy strawberry, vanilla cream, chocolate supreme, cookies & cream and banana cream.
This protein powder contains soy and milk ingredients, sucralose, contains corn starch, and other additives. So, this is one of the gluten free products.